April 2, 1943

Mr. and Mrs. T. B. Tinsley of this city, are announcing the arrival of a son on March 26th, at the Philadelphia Hospital.  He has been named Marion Dale.        


April 2, 1953

The junior class of Edinburg High School will present its annual play entitled “Pleased Ta Meetcha” Friday night, April 3rd at 7:30pm.     


     April 4 1963   

Mrs. Norman A. Johnson Jr. was elected President of the Mississippi Federation of Music Clubs at the annual convention held in Jackson the past week.  

An appropriation of $1,110,000 for construction of a four year high school facility for Choctaw Indian Children was included in the Department of Interior appropriation bill which passed in the House Tuesday. 

April 5, 1973

Susie Hand, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Max Hand of Philadelphia, has been named Sweetheart of Kappa Sigma fraternity at Mississippi State University. Miss Hand is a senior majoring in home economics at State.                            

April 6, 1983

After months of studying and preparation, Jim and Pam Cheairs’ dream came true with the birth of their daughter, Crystal Nicole, in their home on March 22nd. The Cheairs decided long before the pregnancy that they wanted their first child to be born at home. A registered nurse at Thaggard Hospital in Madden, Jim and his wife, said that home births require the parents to be “well prepared”.  


April 7, 1993 

Allen Herrington of Philadelphia Finance is a new member of the Philadelphia –Neshoba County Chamber of Commerce. Presenting him with a plaque is Jackie Hester, chairman of the Chamber’s membership committee.

At the 59th Mississippi State Future Farmers of America Convention held recently, Andy Kirkland received his state FFA degree.  This degree is the highest that the Mississippi FFA Association can bestow. To receive this degree you must have worked a certain number of hours and received a certain amount of money.   


April 2, 2003

Daniel Puckett of Philadelphia High School and Chelsea Lahr of Neshoba Central High School were chosen as Rotary Students of the Month of March. Presenting the students with the awards is Jane Thomas. 

Ribbon cutting ceremonies were recently held for Jewelry Just 4 Fun. Those present for the ribbon cutting were Harold Reynolds, Lanee Brewer, Madeline Hull, Lacey Brewer, Skippy Hull, Edna Tinsley, Nathan Johnson, Lathan Johnson, Lisa Beckham, Maudine Beckham, J.R. Beckham, Willie Beason, Kay Rowell, and Mayor Rayburn Waddell.    


April 3, 2013

Superintendent of Education Tommy L. Dearing and the Neshoba County School Board recognized Mrs. Emily Hill, who teaches kindergarten at Neshoba Elementary, during the Feb. 11 school board meeting for completing the rigorous requirements to be a National Board certified Teacher.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions