Sheriff seeks county noise ordinance

Sheriff seeks county noise ordinance


A noise ordinance aimed at providing county residents with more tranquility and peace of mind is being recommended by Neshoba County Sheriff Eric Clark 

Clark told the Board of Supervisors on Monday that there was an incident over the weekend where a party starting at 2:30 in the morning generated noise complaints from residents miles away.

According to Clark, the county currently lacks specific regulations beyond state statutes that require a person to sign an affidavit against their neighbor for a violation of public peace.

Under an ordinance, supervisors would have the authority to establish the timing and parameters of the noise regulations.

“We are also having extensive problems with hundreds of vehicles on the roads between 2 and 3 in the morning,” Clark said. “There are a lot of complaints in the community from people that have been calling in on this.”

Clark cited examples from Pearl River, Harrison, and Hancock counties, where noise ordinances are already in effect. 

“My main concern with the county noise ordinance is to limit amplified music to no later than 12 a.m.,” Clark said. “Exceptions would include the Neshoba County Fair, Choctaw Indian Fair, and authorized events to be determined by the Board of Supervisors.”

In other action, supervisors voted to:

• Approve authorizing a $29,190 payment to Asia Motors for a 2020 Chevrolet Tahoe for the Sheriff’s Department;

• Approve a travel request for deputies Dyron Talbert and Paul Payne to attend the 2024 MASRO Conference in Biloxi from July 7-12 and to pay a registration fee of $415 for each;

• Approve paying Neshoba General’s invoice for inmate meals for April 2024 for $45,641;

• Approve PTS Solution’s annual software maintenance for the jail from June 1, 2024, through June 1, 2025;

• Approve Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality underground storage tank fees at a cost of $450 for the Road Department;

• Approve a permit request to install MaxxSouth Broadband fiber along Road 561;

• Accept the retirement of Deputy Chancery Clerk Kathy Greer effective April 30 and approve hiring Emily Duran as deputy clerk effective April 26;

• Approve a contract for employment of Rebecca Harris as felony indigent counsel coordinator effective May 1 at $25,000 salary plus benefits;

• Approve four school bus turnarounds for Neshoba County Schools at 10910 Hwy 12 North, 10330 Road 2808, 13181 Road 571, and 10120 Road 834;

• Approve a travel request for constables Keith McCrory and John Lilley to attend the 2024 MCA Convention and Training Seminar in Gulfport from June 9-13 and to pay $450 registration fees for each;

• Approve $0.50 per hour pay increases to Andrea Slaton, Brittany Talbert, Chloe Matthews, Grace Everett, Heather Talbert, Jerry Davidson, Kaylee Adkins, Kimberly Allen, Maleah Barrett, and Zoe Jones for emergency medical dispatcher certifications;

• Accept the retirement resignation of telecommunicator Michelle White effective May 12;

• Accept the resignation of Susan Thrash from Dixon VFFD effective April 9 and approve appointing Danny Griffin as commissioner;

• Approve Burks-Mordecai Builders invoice for $120,824 for work on the emergency management storage building project;

• Approve two travel requests for emergency management director Josh Burt to attend the Statewide Fire Coordinator’s meeting in Pearl on May 7 and attend the Damage Assessment/Crisis Track Training in Madison on May 15;

• Approve a travel request for telecommunicators Zoe Jones and Grace Everett to attend 16-hour orientation to E-Telecommunications class in Canton from May 20-21;

• Approve J & J Contractors invoice for $197,813 for work done on coliseum improvement project;

• Approve a travel request for Brenda Nowell to attend the PERS Employer Training at Hinds Community College in Pearl on June 7;

• Approve reappointing Cindy Byrd to the Weems Community Mental Health Board of Commissioners for a four-year term.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions