Mayor Young wins Democrat nomination handily


Incumbent Philadelphia Mayor James A. Young has won the Democrat Party nomination with 53.3% of the vote to seek a fourth term and will face Republican Leo E. Renaldo in the June 8  general election.

Young, who received 451 votes or 53.31% of the total 846 Democrat mayoral votes cast, secured the nomination with a large enough margin to avoid a runoff against challengers Cassie Henson Hickman, who garnered 322 votes or 38.06%, and businessman Randy Gill, who got 73 votes or 8.63%.

Republican mayoral candidate Renaldo received 265 votes, or 79.10%, of the 335 total Republican mayoral votes cast to earn the nomination by defeating  Robin S. Allen Sr., who got 59 votes, or 17.61%.

In total, 1,207 votes were cast in Tuesday’s Democrat and Republican primaries. Of that total, 1,161 were cast on Election Day, 46 were absentee and approximately 10 were affidavits.

Of the total vote, 847 were cast in the Democrat primary and 804 of those were cast on Election Day and 43 were absentee. The total Republican vote was 360 and 357 of those were cast on Election Day and three were absentees.

Tuesday’s results are unofficial and will be certified Wednesday morning when the absentee and affidavit ballots are counted and added to the totals.

Ward 3 Alderman

In the race for Ward 3 Alderman,  a total of 171 votes were cast in the Democrat primary.

James Tatum earned 94 votes or 54.97% to win the nomination over Darryl Young, who got 76 votes, or 44.44%.

Tatum will face Republican Wright Griffis, who without a challenger, got 58 votes, or 100%, with the winner filling the seat being vacated by Ronnie Jenkins.

Ward 4 Alderman

Ruthie Nash and Ajatha Nichols are headed to an April 27 runoff in the Democrat primary race for Ward 4 Alderman.

Nash, who got 100 votes, or 24.51%, of the total 408 votes cast in that race, will face Ajatha Nichols, who received 129 votes, or 31.62%, of the total in that race.

The other Democratic candidates in the Ward 4 race, Rudolph Tatum got 94 votes or 23.04%, and Shanayah Carter got 74 votes or 18.14%.

The winner of the April 27 runoff between Nash and Nichols will face independent candidate Shaun Seales in the June 8 general election.

Ward 1 Alderman

Republican Justin Lewis Clearman was the sole candidate for the Ward 1 position to fill the seat being vacated by Joe Tullos. Clearman got 119 votes or 100% of the votes in that race.

Ward 2 Alderman

Incumbent Ward 2 alderman Jim Fulton got 163 votes or 98.79% of the total 165 votes in that race and did not have a Republican primary opponent.

Fulton will face Democrat Mangold Washington III in the June 8 general election.

Washington got 93 votes or 98.86% of the 96 total votes cast in the Democratic primary Ward 2 race.


Incumbent Democrat Leroy Clemons got 745 votes or 98.94% of 752 total votes cast and will face Republican James Carson Waltman in the general election.

Waltman got 349 votes, or 99.43%, of the 351 votes in the Republican primary for the Alderman-at-Large seat.

Registration, absentee deadlines

The last day to register for the June 8 general election is May 10. The deadline for in-person absentee voting is noon June 5 and absentee ballots returned by mail must be postmarked on or before Election Day and received by the municipal clerk’s office within five business days.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions