June 27, 1942

The first cotton bloom of the season as brought in by Robert Perkins, a number of other early blossoms are also being brought in by: B.J. Barham, M.C. Posey, Clayton Houston, R.D. Reid, Will Battle, and Nelson Reynolds.    

June 26, 1952

Those who will attend Magnolia Boys State (in Belhaven) from Neshoba County are; Charles Wall, Billy Roper, Charles Allen Thompson, Junie Slayton and Walter Prince. The expenses will be paid by the American Legion Local Post 138. Boys State is plan for training in functional aspects of citizenship, sponsored by the American Legion.          

June 28, 1962

The spring edition of Science and Mechanics “Radio-TV Experimenter” magazine has size articles written by Forrest H. (Woody) Frantz, son-in-law of Mr. and Mrs. Felton Grubbs of Philadelphia. Mr. and Mrs. Frantz live in Concord, Massachusetts, where he is employed by Link-Timke Aircraft. The free-lance writing of Frantz has been published in other similar magazines in the past, and deals with experimental methods in communicating cartoons.   

June 29, 1972

Captain Earl Russell, Commanding Officer of Company B, First Battalion, 29th Infantry, Fort Benning, Georgia, has been awarded a Bronze Star for duties he performed while in Vietnam. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Russell of the Dixon Community. 

June 26, 1982

Linda Jo Reynolds, 14 year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ivan Reynolds of Noxapater, has been selected to be a state finalist in the 1982 Miss United Teenager Pageant to be held at Belhaven College. The pageant is the official state-wide finals for the Miss United Teenager Pageant.         


June 27, 1992 

Kathy Tullos, director of Advocates for the Exceptional, has been appointed by Gov. Kirk Fordice to a state agency that coordinates services for individuals with disabilities. Mrs. Tullos was named to the Mississippi Interagency Coordinating Council and will represent parents who have children with disabilities.


June 27, 2002

Misty McKay and Ashley Thomas, both graduates of Philadelphia High School, have received the Merchants and Farmers Bank Scholarship to attend East Central Community College in Decatur. Penny Eakes and Guy Nowell are the bank’s representatives and gave the girl’s their scholarships.  


June 27, 2012

Sophomore Tanner Fortenberry, a graduate of Union High School, is the recipient of the Kinoth and Ella Mae Thornton and Emerson Electric Scholarship at East Central Community College in Decatur. This scholarship is a tribute to the college for its many positive contributions to the Thornton’s lives. The award was presented during the annual AT&T Scholarship Awards Program. 

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions