Philadelphia High School’s Lideatrick Griffin has been named the All-Region 4-2A Offensive Player of the Year.
Philadelphia High School’s Lideatrick Griffin has been named the All-Region 4-2A Offensive Player of the Year.
Philadelphia High School’s Lideatrick Griffin was voted the All-Region 4-2A Offensive Player of the Year by the region’s coaches.

Griffin played a multiple role on the Tornado offense, lining up at wide receiver and running back. He was also a threat on the kicking teams and played some defensive back as well.

He finished his junior season with 507 rushing yards on 25 rushes, and scored five touchdowns. He had three 100-plus yard games and his longest run was 72 yards.

In 11 games, Griffin caught 47 passes for 768 yards. His longest reception was 80 yards.

He also recorded 161 yards in kick and punt returns.

His total yards most likely would have been higher but he had more than his share of injuries that would sidelined him for at least two games. Against Quitman he came down on his neck. It was feared he had suffered a serious injury but he checked out okay at the hospital and went home that night. Still, he sat out the next week as a precaution. In the second round of the playoffs against East Webster, he suffered a broken tibia and tore a tendon. He required surgery and missed the Calhoun City game in which the Tornadoes were eliminated.

Griffin has committed to Mississippi State and is expected to be back at full speed for his senior season at Philadelphia.

Philadelphia finished 8-5 overall and 3-1 in the Region standing, losing only to Region 4-2A champion Scott Central which went on to win the Class 2A state championship with a 21-7 win over Taylorsville.

Scott Central’s middle linebacker Navonteque Strong was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Strong, who also played running back, finished with 148 tackles.

The Scott Central coaching staff under Devin Cooper was voted region Coaching staff of the year after leading the team to a 15-1 state championship season.

 Players who earned MVP honors are automatically members of the All-Region team. Here is a team-by-team listing of the First team players and Second team players



 Those members of the Tornado team making first team All-Region were quarterback Asher Morgan, receiver Kadarious Calloway, defensive lineman-fullback Deiondre Fox, linebacker Ahyunte’ Crosby, linebacker Tucker Abel, defensive end Antauze Brown, defensive back Jariq Stribling and center Gaines Gilmer.

 Members of the second team are defensive back Tanner Boler, linebacker Kendrick Day and defensive back Jalen Griffin.



 The Union Yellowjackets finished the season with an 8-5 overall record and 2-2 in the region standings. Union made it to the second round of the playoffs.

 Members of the Yellowjacket team who made First Team All-Region were quarterback Colby Ferguson, running back/receiver/free safety Kenyon Clay, tackle Jacob Moore, guard/defensive end Garrett Posey, inside linebacker Peyton Posey, cornerback Jaheim Gill and wide receiver/linebacker Ethan Plaisance.

 Members of the second team were defensive lineman Trent McDonald, center/nose guard Dustin Welborn, guard Zac LeBlanc, and running back Jaylon Buckley.


Scott Central

 Members of the First Team All-Region were Carson Williams, Hydee Barlow, Kimond McDonald, Lajarvis Patrick, Jabrelyn Vivians, Treyon Wash, D.J. Black and Dillon Shaw.

 Members of the second team are Tate Rushing, Jalon Wells, Eli Cooper, Javarious McBeth and Darrion Bobbit.



 The Lake Hornets went 7-5 and 1-3 in the Region 4-2A standings.

 Members of the Aaron Campbell, Austin Kyzar, Tim Norris, D’Narrious Hughes, Seth Prestage and Cole Nester.

 Those Hornets making the second team were Zywon Ledbetter, Theory Harris, Jalen Broadfoot and D’Alex Jennings.


Newton High

 The Tigers finished the season at 1-9 overall and 0-4 in the region.

 Team members making All-Region First Team were Andre Ware, Trey Hillie, Jaquan Roberts, Jamarius Ford and Isiah Evans.

 Those making the second team were Jonah Donald, Avonta Flowers, Alex Billups Jr., Revell Buckley and Anthony Smith.