For the third time under the direction of Cheer Coach Melonie Washington, the Neshoba Central High School Cheerleading Squad captured the MHSAA State Small Varsity-Division II Championship.

"Winning the championship was awesome. The girls worked really hard and they put many hours into it," said Washington, who has been the cheer coach for six years, "The routine was flawless and it was much deserved."

The Rocket Cheerleading Squad competed against seven other squads which included Clinton, Warren Central, Hernando, Olive Branch, West Jones, Biloxi and Germantown.

"The girls have very high skill levels which they have been working on for 6 or 7 months," said Washington.

Washington said the squad's routine which was two minutes and thirty seconds long was complicated and difficult.

"It was full of tumbles, passes and it had to be synchronized," she said.

The squad was judged on crowd appeal to use of motions to cheer impressions on the Cheer Category. In the Music Category they were judged on the basis of pyramids to group tumbling to dance.

Their choreographer this year is Austin McNair at Cheer Etc.

In all, the Neshoba Central Cheerleading Squad has won five state championships (1998, 1999, 2010, 2011, and 2013).

The members of the 2013-14 Rocket Cheerleading Squad are Mia Spencer, Lauren Vaughn, Kelsey Moore, Balleigh Payne, Joslyn Day, Ashley Fiegenschue, Emily Crenshaw, Taylor Phillips, Miriam Seale, Brooklyn Gentry, Katie Dulap, Layne Lepard, Clover Eakes, Molli Alexander, Shelby Greenwood, Bailey Wilborn, Angel Jackson and Natalie Goodin.