The last 53 of the last 54 SEC football titles have been won by only six teams: Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, LSU and Tennessee. Ole Miss last won an SEC title in 1963 while State last won the 1941 championship.

Lindy’s, one of the most famous pre-season football preview magazines, seems to think Georgia and Alabama will duke it out again for the SEC championship. Alabama is picked to win the West followed by Auburn, Mississippi State, Texas A&M, LSU, Ole Miss and Arkansas, in that order. Georgia tops the East with South Carolina, Florida, Missouri, Kentucky, Tennessee and Vanderbilt to follow.   Overall, Lindy’s has Alabama, Georgia, Auburn, Mississippi State, South Carolina, A&M, Florida, LSU, Missouri, Kentucky, Ole Miss, Tennessee, Vanderbilt and Arkansas, in that order.

 ESPN announced some early kickoff dates for both MSU and Ole Miss. State will host Stephen F. Austin on Sept. 1 at home with a 6:30 p.m. kickoff followed by an 11 a.m. kickoff at Kansas State the next Saturday. The Louisiana-Lafayette game on Sept. 15 will also kickoff at 11 a.m.’

Ole Miss will open the season at 11 a.m. on Sept. 1 in Houston against Texas Tech followed by a 3 p.m. start on Sept. 8 against South Illinois. The Rebels begin SEC action against Alabama at home on Sept. 15 at 6 p.m. on ESPN. The Egg Bowl will be televised on Thanksgiving Night at 6:30 p.m.


Johnny Football

Johnny Manziel is back in football pads. The former Texas A&M quarterback is playing in the Canadian Football League for the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. Manziel, a former first round selection of the Cleveland Browns, played 22 snaps in a pre-season game. The former Heisman Trophy winner was 9-of-12 passing for 81 yards. He is looking to back up former Ole Miss quarterback Jeremiah Masoli. Former Atlanta Falcon, Hawaii and SMU head coach June Jones is the head coach of the Tiger-Cats.

 Dale McKee, a resident of Waynesboro, has covered Mississippi sports for more than 45 years. He writes a weekly sports column. You can contact Dale at