Philadelphia's May 7 primary election results.
Philadelphia's May 7 primary election results.
Republican Jim Fulton won the Ward 2 alderman seat Tuesday night, defeating Wright Griffis 310-213, or with 59 percent of the votes, complete but uncertified primary returns show.

Democrat James Tatum unseated incumbent Ward 3 Alderman Ronnie Jenkins by 10 votes.

There will be runoffs in alderman races in Wards 1 and 4.

Tatum polled 123 votes to Jenkins' 113.

Neither Fulton nor Tatum have opposition in the June 3 general election.

After the votes were tallied, Fulton thanked his supporters and his opponent.

"I want to thank all the people who supported me in this campaign and I pledge to work hard for all the citizens of Ward 2," he said.

" I want to thank Wright Griffis for running a clean campaign. He is to be commended as well. I look forward to serving the people of our great city."

There will be a runoff on May 21 in the Ward 1 alderman race between Josh Gamblin and Woody Reed. Gamblin polled 222 votes to Reed's 151. Others in the race were Laura Bailey, 87, and Judy Joyner Caverhill, 40.

The winner will face Democrat John Cooke who was unopposed in the primary.

There will also be a runoff in the Ward 4 alderman's race between incumbent Cecil Nichols and Bobbie Jackson.

Nichols polled 175 votes and Jackson received 161.

Others in the race were Mary D. (MayLois) Griffin with 120 votes and Rudolph Tatum, 85.

There are no Republican candidates in the Ward 4 race.

In the Alderman-at-large race, Leroy Clemons easily defeated Jerry W. Smith, 673 to 236 or 74 percent.

Clemons will face Republican Willie Jackson in the general election. Jackson ran unopposed in the Republican primary.

Elected to the Republican Executive Committee on Tuesday were Steve Dansby, Kay W. Hamill, William E. Hamill Jr., Marion M. (Don) Perry, Patricia A. Trest and James Waltman.

Elected to the Democratic Executive Committee were Pashen T. Autry, Dwanna F. Davis, Tara N. Stribling, Eunice Latrice Thompson, Janice L. Thompson and Edward A. Williamson.

Those elected in the general election will take office on July 1.

The citywide liquor referendum will be on the general election ballot on June 4.