FEBRUARY 2, 1940

Philadelphia High School debaters went to Meridian to compete in the regional tournament there. Coached by Henry Harrison, principal of the junior high school, the debating squad is composed of Lorraine Turner and Sara Kathleen Posey, affirmative team, and Marie Grubbs, and Alice Logan Holmes, negative team.

W.A. Winstead, Neshoba County superintendent left for Jackson for several days to act as a member of a committee named to work for enactment by the Legislature of certain educational measures. Mr. Winstead was chosen as a member of the legislative committee repressing all the county superintendents in the state. 


FEBRUARY 3, 1950

Robert G. Posey, of Philadelphia, was among the 187 students at Mississippi Southern College who made the honor roll for the fall quarter, as announced by Miss Mary Pulley, registrar. Mr. Posey is a freshman at MSC.

FEBRUARY 4, 1960

Hollis Woodall, manager of United Gas, has been named Chairman of the March of Dimes for Philadelphia and Neshoba County in 1960. Mr. Woodall has been resident of Philadelphia for the past year, moving to Philadelphia from Laurel. He is a member of First Methodist Church, Rotary Club, VFW and American Legion. He is married and makes his home on Woodland Hill Drive with his wife and children. 

Chairman of the Heart Fund Drive, Dr. Pete Rhymes, has announced chairman of committees for the drive. Serving on the special contributions committee as chairman is Allan King. Jack Stribling and Lamar Gamblin will spearhead the businesses houses contributions. Mrs. Howard Cole acts as chairman of Heart Sunday contributions.


FEBRUARY 5, 1970

Senior Beth Pilgrim, on the basis of her homemaking knowledge and attitude, is Philadelphia’s 1970 Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow. She received a silver charm from General Mills and a chance to win up to $110,000 in scholarships.


FEBRUARY 7, 1980

LeeAnne Marshall is congratulated by Judy Irons Rudolph for winning the Scholastic Award for the Mississippi Junior Miss Pageant. Mrs. Rudolph was the Scholastic Award Winner in the 1969 State Junior Miss pageant. LeeAnne received a $500 cash scholarship and a $1500 scholarship from Mississippi University for Women.

FEBRUARY 7, 1990

Andy Savel has been selected to serve as a Page in the Mississippi House of Representatives. Rep. Bennett Malone will serve as his sponsor. Andy is a sophomore at Neshoba Central High School. His parents are Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Savell, Jr. Grandparents are Mr. and Mrs. Dalton Shoemaker and the late Mr. and Mrs. Oliver Savell Sr. 

FEBRUARY 2, 2000

The Philadelphia Public School District has selected Mrs. Lee Ann Fulton as its Teacher of the Year for 2000. The eighth-grade math teacher will compete with other professionals for the Third Congressional District title. Mrs. Fulton is the daughter of John Burt and the late Shirley Burt. She is married to Jim Fulton and have two sons, Coker and Kip. She started teaching in 1985.

FEBRUARY 3, 2010

Neshoba County Farm Bureau was presented the “Friend of Extension” award for 2009 at the Community Awards Program sponsored by the Neshoba County Extension Service and the Community Development Partnership. Farm Bureau works closely with the Extension Service in conducting agricultural programming, 4-H activities, and many other worthwhile projects throughout the year. The people present are; Joan Thompson, Kenneth Thompson, President of the Neshoba County Farm Bureau Board of Directors, and Harvin Hudson, County Director of the Neshoba County Extension Service.