JULY 8, 1938

Dr. Arthur E. Morgan filed suit at Knoxville, challenging the right of President Roosevelt to remove him as chairman of the TVA, and asking that he be recognized as a member and chairman of the Board of Directors of the Federal agency. He asked payment of $2916.66 back salary since his removal by the President, and a declaratory judgement voiding the President’s removal order and forcing Directors H.A. Morgan and David E. Lilienthal to recognize him as a member and chairman of the board.

JULY 9, 1948

L. E. Alfred of Jackson has been elected Chairman of the Mississippi Petroleum Industries Committee to serve for the 1948-49 period. Mr. Alfred has been Mississippi Manager of the Arkansas Fuel Oil Company for the past 18 years. He attended Baylor University at Waco, Texas, is a member of the Lions Club, and has been active in civic affairs. He succeeds E.H. Simpson of Jackson. The Mississippi Petroleum Industries Committee is an organization composed of gasoline distributors and dealers throughout the State, with committees in each county.

JULY 3, 1958

Miss Carolyn Johnson, 20 year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. J.M. Johnson of Linwood, was named Dairy Princess at the Newton Dairy Festival. Miss Johnson is employed in the district office of the Mississippi Highway Department in Newton and was sponsored by the Newton Rotary Club. She will also represent Newton in the state-wide Miss Hospitality Contest. she received a cash award of $150.

JULY 4, 1968

Miller M. Mcdougal has been given an Honor Award by the Department of Interior for commendable service upon his retirement after 17 years and nine months of government service, more than 14 of which were with the Bureau of Indian Affairs. James Hale of the Choctaw Agency makes the presentation and presents the award to Mcdougal.

JULY 6, 1978

Miss Jane Dees, 17 year old daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Buddy Dees of Philadelphia was crowned Best All Around Cowgirl at the annual Mississippi High School Rodeo. Darryl Presley, son of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Presley of Shuqualak was crowned Best All Around Cowboy. Both teenagers received an honor for the second year in a row-- with Miss Dees winning rodeo queen honors in 1977 and Presley taking all around cowboy hours. They will advance to the annual National High School Rodeo to be held in Huron, South Dakota.

JULY 6, 1988

Amy Snuggs is the first place winner in the district 4-H Food and Nutrition Visual Presentation Contest held in conjunction with the 1988 Southeast District Contests at Jones Junior College in Ellisville. Amy is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Steve Snuggs and is a member of the Valley Volunteers 4-H Club. She received her award from Nelda Starks, Extension Nutrition Specialist with the Mississippi Cooperative Extension Service.

JUNE 24, 1998

Amy Steele of Philadelphia has been selected to receive the 1998 Big and Ham Sanders Memorial Scholarship at Meridian Community College. This scholarship, which is funded through the MCC Foundation, recognizes commitment to academic excellence. Steele, a 1997 graduate of Neshoba Central High School and a nursing student at MCC, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Steele. After receiving a Bachelor of Science degree, Steele plans to attend Middle Tennessee School of Anesthesiology.

JULY 2, 2008

Lakeside Smith, a resident of Philadelphia, was recently awarded a $2,500 scholarship. The scholarship is offered to all high school seniors and graduates living in sites managed by Interstate Realty Management Company Educational Foundation. Grants totaling at $125,000 were awarded this month. Smith is a full time student at East Central Community College and pursuing a degree in nursing.