JULY 1, 1938

The Mississippi Democratic Executive Committee unanimously elected Louis J. Wise, attorney of Yazoo City, as secretary to succeed Sidney Roebuck of Newton, resigned following his appointment to the State Highway Commission from the Central District. Mr. Wise has served on the committee since 1920, execute for a break during his service in the Legislature. He was nominated by W.H. Anderson of Ripley.

Miss Johnnie Ruth Dees and Mr. Jack Greenleaf, who were winners of the two bicycles as the major prizes in the Junior Business Builders contest recently conducted by Davis Drug Co. and Hays Pharmacy. More than thirty other prizes were awarded to girls and boys who were contestants. Both stores express to the public their sincere appreciation for the cordial reception given the contest.

JULY 2, 1948

All final permits have been granted for Radio Station, WHOC, Philadelphia and work is well underway, with plans made for the opening on or around August 1st. The station is owned and will be operated by Howard Cole, with W.C. DeHority of Laurel as manager. The building is a one story frame structure with complete basement which will house the studios, offices, and other equipment is fast nearing completion.

JUNE 26, 1958

Mrs. Annie Ruth Allen, R.N., has assumed the duties of superintendent of nurses at Neshoba County Hospital, succeeding Mrs. Bobby Jack Morrow, Mrs. Allen, is a native of Philadelphia, and the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Dave Cook. Mrs. Allen is a graduate of the School of Nursing of Hotel Dieu School of Nursing, New Orleans, Louisiana. Her nursing training includes five years in the Army Nurses Corps, where she attained the rank of a Captain.

JUNE 27, 1968

Miss Gail Dunigan, the reigning Miss Neshoba County selected at the Neshoba County Fair, will represent Neshoba County in the Miss Mississippi pageant at Vicksburg. Miss Dunigan, the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James K. Dunigan, is a senior home economics major at Mississippi Southern University where she is a member of Kappa Delta Sorority and a ROTC sponsor. A graduate of Philadelphia High School, Miss Dunigan was a class favorite, cheerleader, homecoming maid, most beautiful, a class officer, and received the Crisco Award for her studies in home economics.

JUNE 29, 1978

Lori Ann Clark, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Chester Clark, will represent Neshoba County as a talent winner at the State Cinderella Miniature Miss pageant to be held in Parkinson beginning in July. She is the granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. Earl Eldridge and the late Mr. and Mrs. John Clark of Neshoba County.

JUNE 29, 1988

M. Shane Hardy, a recent graduate of Neshoba Central High School, is the 1988 recipient of the Witco Scholarship. The Witco Corporation annually awards a $10,000 scholarship to an outstanding applicant chosen from a field of high school seniors who parents are employees of the Witco Corporation or one of its subsidiaries. Hardy graduated as a special distinction honor student, serving as NCHS Student Body President his senior year.

JUNE 17, 1998

Jennifer Carin Breazeale of Philadelphia has been awarded a Second Century Scholarship from Millsaps College. This scholarship is awarded to students who have a strong record of academic achievement in college preparatory courses and scholastic attitude, as reflected in test scores; display outstanding leadership qualities; and show unusual promise for contributing to the Millsaps academic program. Breazeale, a graduate of the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science in Columbus, is the daughter of David and Joyce Breazeale.

JUNE 25, 2008

The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science held its 2008 graduation ceremony on May 23. Among those was Brittany Nicole Ferguson, daughter of Sherri Ferguson and John Ferguson of Philadelphia. She came to MSMS from Choctaw Central High School. She plans to attend Mississippi State University to study biology and medical science.