May 26, 1933

Missess Inez Darby and Zetha Hillman, of Neshoba county are among the 111 young men and women who will receive degrees from the Mississippi State Teachers College, Hattiesburg, at the May convocation.

May 21, 1943

CPL. Hester Willis, son of Mr. and Mrs. Leroy R. Willis of Edinburg, recently completed advanced ground crew training at the Army Air Forces Technical Training Command school at Consolidated Aircrap Corp., San Diego, Calif. He has been transferred to an Army Air Forces station for active service and will help keep our combat planes in fight.

May 21, 1953

Supt T. J. Durrett is presenting Charles Ray Gipson a personal gift from himself which is a Schaeffer fountain pen with the following engrawing: Chares Ray Gipson, President Student Council, Philadelphia High School, 1953-54.

May 23, 1963

Newly elected officers of Business and Professional Women's Club are left to right; Mrs. Myra Martin, installing officer, President, Mrs. Irene Lofton, 1st Vice-Pres., Mrs. Alverta Fleming, 2nd Vice-Pres. Mrs. Connie Sampsell, 3rd Vice-Pres., Mrs. Ruth Banks, Recording Secretary, Mrs. Sadie Graves, Treasurer, Mrs. Sybil Jackson, not picturedj, Corresponding Sect., Mrs. Bobby Robertson.

Mrs. Lofton was a charter member of the local B. & P. W. Club and was the first President. The club considers it an honor to have her as the new president.

May, 24, 1973

Neshoba County's Miss Hospitality of 1973 will be elected May 29 during a luncheon at the Colonial House.

Contestants who have entered to date are Cindy Bozeman, Jenny Lynn Ethridge, Patti Sisson and Nancy Weatherford.


Neshoba County received its first Merit Community Program award Monday night in the category of recreation.

The award was presented to A. W. (Rack) Burt, director of the Philadelphia Neshoba County Parks and Recreation Department by David Scott, chairman of Commnity Development for the Mississippi Economic Council.

May 25, 1983

Summer Posey, second from left, was named Neshoba County's Miss Hospitality for 1983. She received a check from the Philadelphia-Neshoba County Chamber of Commerce and will represent the county on the Gulf Coast at the State pageant in July Presenting the check is Robert Turcotte, Chamber president. Looking on is Terri Cox, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Tom Wallace Cox, the 1982 Miss Hospitality and Lillian Killen, chairman of the Miss Hospitality committee. Miss Posey, a student at the University of Southern Mississippi, is the daughter of Bobby and Maxine Posey.

May 26, 1993

James A. Young, former director of he Neshoba County Emergency Medical Service was recently named "EMS Administrator of the Year" by the Mississippi Emergency Medical Technician's Association.

Each year the Association recognizes and honors EMTs and EMS adminstrators who have made outstanding contributions to their profession.

Young began his career with the local ambulance service in the 1970s.


Services for Mrs. Martha Hooper, retired Philadelphia business owner, were held Saturday at 2 p.m. from the chapel of McClain-Hays Funeral Home.

May 26, 2003

The Philadelphia Police Department will open its first substation next month in the Westside area.

The station, in the planning stages for about six months, will provide an opportunity for more interaction between officers and neighborhood residents, the police chief said.